学术阅读写作课程(3-6年级)

 

      3-6年级学术阅读写作课程(Deer)是专门为希望提高英语语言运用熟练度和语言文学技能的学生而量身制作的。在每周1次,每次2小时的学术阅读写作课程(Deer)中,通过有针对性和趣味性的课堂活动,学生们不仅在学术阅读和写作技能这两个重点领域能够得到迅速提升,而且也能在听力口语能力和公众演讲技能等方面得到相应提高。同时这个课程也非常注重对学生辩证性思维、全球性议题讨论和如何应用关键英语语言文学技能等高端学术能力的培养。

 

      在阅读部分,学生们会学习各类经典名著小说,以及涵盖历史、科学等主题的非小说类书籍和材料。在写作和演讲部分,学生们将会首先学习如何写出一个完美的段落文章,然后将写作技能拓展至一篇高品质的文章(Essay)。同时在写文章的同时,学生们也会进行大量的演讲训练,增强他们在公众场合下的自信心和流畅的口头表达能力。

 

      经过Deer课程的学习,学生们不仅会在英语语言艺术课程领域获得一个巨大的全面提升,而且也将会成为一名具有辩证思维能力的独立学习者,并对社会时务和全球性议题有充分的认识。

学习目标

第1阶段

 
  • • 写作: 学写一篇完美的段落文章,并逐步引入文章(Essay)写作
  • • 阅读: 通过各类经典小说和非小说阅读材料,扩充词汇量,提高阅读流畅性并提升深层次阅读理解的能力
  • • 口语表达: 对所学主题相关领域进行调研,进行学术作品展示、公众演讲并参与各类课堂辩论
  • • 其他技能: 学术资源和学习安排的自我管理能力训练、对制定的学习目标坚持不懈的努力并对自我学习责任心的培养

第2阶段

 
  • • 写作: 通过各类文章(Essay) 文体写作训练, 培养自我纠错的技能
  • • 阅读: 在经典小说阅读的同时,阅读各类历史、科学等非小说主题知识,将自身与现实世界相连接,进行深层次的阅读理解能力训练
  • • 口语表达: 通过公众演讲和参加各类课堂辩论,提高表达的自信心和流畅度
  • • 其他技能: 学术资源调研、并学习如何将自己培养成为一名合格的全球公民

报名英语测试

Academic Reading & Writing (Gr3-6)

 

Little Mountain’s Academic Reading and Writing program, Deer, is intended for students in grades 3-6. This program has been designed for students who demonstrate proficiency in English communication and literacy skills. Meeting for two hour lessons twice a week, students in the Deer stream will participate in engaging activities that will develop the major areas of English communication: reading, writing, listening, and speaking.

 

This program will give students the opportunity to improve their critical thinking, awareness of global issues, and knowledge and application of key English skills. In the reading component of the Deer stream, students will read fictional pieces from a variety of genres, as well as non-fiction texts covering a range of history and science topics. In the writing and presentation component, students will first learn how to craft a strong paragraph, then how to extend their writing to create and share well-written essays. Together, these branches of learning enable students to gain a well-rounded Language Arts education.

 

Through project-based learning, Deer students will apply their knowledge and interests to consider problems set before them and present solutions. By the end of this program, students will become independent critical thinkers with a strong awareness of social justice and world issues.

 

Learning Objectives

Deer Level 1

 
  • • Writing: craft a well-written paragraph; introduction to essay writing.
  • • Reading: explore a large vocabulary from a wide range of topics; enhance reading comprehension and fluency through thematic texts.
  • • Speaking: prepare and present on relevant topics; participate in formal and informal debate.
  • • Further Skills: logical organization of personal schedules and academic resources; develop and maintain responsibility to personal goals and commitments.

Deer Level 2

 
  • • Writing: development in various essay formats; practice self-editing skills.
  • • Reading: enrich knowledge of history and science; make relevant personal and universal connections to theme-based texts.
  • • Speaking: improve confidence and fluency through presentation and debate.
  • • Further Skills: perform research; develop an awareness of what it means to be a global citizen.

Request an Assessment