学术阅读写作课程 (6-7年级)

 

        6-7年级学术阅读写作课程(Dove)是专门为希望提高英语语言运用熟练度和语言文学技能的学生而量身制作的。在每周1次,每次2小时的学术阅读写作课程(Dove)中,通过有针对性和趣味性的课堂活动,学生们不仅在学术阅读和写作技能这两个重点领域能够得到迅速提升,而且也能在听说和公众演讲技能等方面得到相应提高。同时这个课程也非常注重对学生辩证性思维、全球性议题讨论和如何应用关键英语语言文学技能等高端学术能力的培养。

 

        在阅读部分,学生们通过各类小说类作品和非小说文体的文学分析,开始培养对社会和科学领域的认知能力。在写作和演讲表达部分,学生们通过对文章段落的不断提炼和修饰,来将写作技能拓展至一篇丰富多彩的文章(Essay)。

 

        通过阅读、写作和演讲表达的综合训练,学生们能够对英语语言艺术这门课(English Language Arts)有更深刻的认识,并不断提升自己的英语语言使用的综合能力。通过Little Mountain 小山学校的核心教学理念——项目式学习(Project Based Learning, 简称PBL)的方式,学术阅读写作课程(Dove)课程的学生,能够最大化的将他们所学的知识和兴趣用于解决现实问题,并养成真正动脑筋思考的习惯。经过Dove课程的学习,学生们不仅会在英语语言艺术课程领域获得一个巨大的全面提升,而且也将会成为一名具备辩证思维的独立学习者,并对社会正义和全球性议题有自己独立的思考和认识。

学习目标

第1阶段

  • • 写作:学写一篇有明确写作目的性的段落文章,并逐步引入文章(Essay)写作
  • • 阅读:通过各类经典小说和非小说阅读材料,扩充词汇量,提高阅读流畅性并提升深层次阅读理解的能力
  • • 口语表达:对所学主题相关领域进行调研,进行学术作品展示、公众演讲并参与各类课堂辩论
  • • 其他技能:学术资源和学习安排的自我管理能力训练、对制定的学习目标坚持不懈的努力并对自我学习责任心的培养

第2阶段

  • • 写作:通过各类文章(Essay) 文体写作训练, 培养自我纠错的技能
  • • 阅读:在经典小说阅读的同时,阅读各类历史、科学等非小说主题知识,将自身与现实世界相连接,进行深层次的阅读理解能力训练
  • • 口语表达:通过公众演讲和参加各类课堂辩论,提高表达的自信心和流畅度
  • • 其他技能:学术资源调研、并学习如何将自己培养成为一名合格的全球公民

英语测试报名表

Academic Reading & Writing (Gr6-7)

 

Little Mountain’s Academic Reading & Writing program, Dove, is intended for students in grades 6-7. This program has been designed for students who demonstrate proficiency in English communication and literacy skills. Meeting for two hour lessons twice a week, students in the Dove stream will participate in engaging activities that will develop the major areas of English communication: reading, writing, listening, and speaking.

 

This program will give students the opportunity to boost their critical thinking, awareness of global issues, and knowledge and application of key English skills. In the reading component of the Dove stream, students will alternate between literary analysis of renowned fiction pieces across a variety of genres, and non-fiction texts to develop an awareness of social and scientific affairs. In the writing and presentation component, students will develop their academic writing skills by crafting paragraphs and essays in a variety of genres. Together, these branches of learning enable students to gain a well-rounded Language Arts education.

 

Through project-based learning, Dove students will apply their knowledge and interests to identify and consider problems and present interesting solutions. By the end of this program, students will become independent critical thinkers with a strong awareness of social justice and world issues.

Learning Objectives

Dove Level 1

  • • Writing: craft well-written paragraphs for specific purposes; introduction to essay writing.
  • • Reading: explore a large vocabulary from a wide range of topics; enhance reading comprehension and fluency through thematic texts.
  • • Speaking: prepare and present on relevant topics; participate in formal and informal debate.
  • • Further Skills: logical organization of personal schedules and academic resources; time and workload management.

Dove Level 2

  • • Writing: development in various essay and creative writing formats; practice self-editing skills.
  • • Reading: enrich knowledge of history and science; make relevant personal and universal connections; independently identify themes in texts.
  • • Speaking: improve confidence and fluency through presentation and debate.
  • • Further Skills: perform guided research; develop an awareness of various levels of citizenship.

Assessment Booking Form